Shortlisted for President's Design Awards 2018 - Designer of the Year

Photo 17 7 18 10 01 23 PM

Yah Li was shortlisted for the President's Design Awards 2018, for Designer of the Year (Out of the 24 eligible entries for the “Designer of the Year” award, 6 designers and 2 architects were shortlisted) and undergone a 20-minute presentation and 10 minutes of Q&A with the impressive and international 12 member jury of President design awards 2018 in November 2017. The jurors comprises of British Design & Art Direction (D&AD) Chairman Dick Powell, Tierra Designs Principal Franklin Po, Ford Motor Shanghai Strategic Studio Chief Designer Chelsia Lau, Accenture Singapore Country Managing Director Teo Lay Lim, Makeka Design Lab Director Mokena Makeka, Danish Design Centre (DDC) Programme Director Christina Melander, Web Structures Director Dr Hossein Rezai, Studio Roosegaarde Founder Daan Roosegaarde, BLACK Design Co-founder & Creative Director Jackson Tan, Ernst and Young Advisory Managing Director Mildred Tan, Bruce Mau Design President and CEO Hunter Tura, ANNEX A / Architects Founder Mark Wee.

Candidates for the Designer of the Year category were evaluated on their design philosophy; innovation and originality; leadership in their disciplines; and portfolio of works that have demonstrated impact on contemporary life and living environment, and have social and national significance as well as a value as icons.

Yah Li was commended by the Jurors for outstanding work in lighting design and received a letter of commendation from the Jury Chair of Design Panel, Mr Dick Powell.

#presidentsdesignaward, #passionmadepossible


26 January 2017